Last Reviewed:  October 17, 2017

Move FileCenter to a New Computer

There are two things you can move: your files (definitely) and your settings (if you have a lot of separators, naming options, folder templates, etc).

NOTE: We have a video tutorial that walks you through this process:

Watch: Move FileCenter to a New Computer

Note Your Product Key

Go to the drop-arrow under the "Help" button and select "About". This will show you your product key. Note it down carefully. You'll need it when you reinstall.

Move Your Files

To move your files, click the "Cabinets" button and note the "Location" for each cabinet.

For cabinets that are out on the network, all you need to do is write down the cabinet's location.

For cabinets that reside on your computer, copy each of those folders to the new computer and put them in exactly the same place.

Now install FileCenter on your new computer.

Finally, click the "Cabinets" button and re-create each cabinet, being careful to set its location to the correct folder.

Settings

You'll only need to copy settings if you have extensive customizations you don't want to recreate: folder templates, naming options, separators, etc.

First, copy your files over to the new computer as we described above (but don't set up your cabinets yet).

On the old computer, do this:

  1. Click the drop-arrow under the "Help" button
  2. Select "Support Options"
  3. Select "Browse Settings"
  4. A window will pop up with all of your settings; minimize it for now
  5. Go back to the "Help" drop-arrow > "Support Options"
  6. Click "Close all FileCenter Apps"

Now you can go back to the settings window that you minimized. Make a copy of every file and folder in that window, probably to a thumb drive or somewhere on your network.

Now install FileCenter on the new computer, then do this:

  1. Click the drop-arrow under the "Help" button
  2. Select "Support Options"
  3. Select "Browse Settings"
  4. A window will pop up with all of your settings; minimize it for now
  5. Go back to the "Help" drop-arrow > "Support Options"
  6. Click "Close all FileCenter Apps"

Now go back to the window you just minimized. Copy all of the settings files from the old computer and paste them into this window, overwriting its files.

That's it. When you restart FileCenter, all of your settings and files will be back in place.