Last Reviewed:  October 17, 2017

Switch Back to Normal Save/Open Dialogs

FileCenter's Save/Open integration is very flexible. You can enable/disable it for individual programs, switch back to the standard Save/Open dialog on-demand, or disable the integration completely.

Reverting to the Normal Save/Open Dialog On-Demand

Sometimes you don't want to save a file into a file cabinet. At the same time, you don't want to disable FileCenter's Save/Open dialogs completely. You can selectively switch to the standard Save/Open dialogs by just hitting the Esc key on your keyboard. Alternatively, you can click the "Switch to Windows" button in FileCenter's Save/Open dialog. In older versions, this button might be called "Explorer View", "Explorer Mode", or just "Explorer". The next time you save/open a file, FileCenter's dialog will be back.

Disabling FileCenter's Save/Open Dialogs for a Specific Program

To disable FileCenter's Save/Open dialogs for some programs while leaving it enabled for others, do the following:

  1. Go to FileCenter's "Settings"
  2. Select the "Save/Open" option on the left
  3. Select the option called "Enable Only for Selected Applications Below"
  4. On the "Supported Applications" list, de-select programs to disable the integration
  5. Click "Apply" and "OK"

Disabling the Save/Open Integration Completely

To completely disable FileCenter's Save/Open dialog for all programs, do the following:

  1. Go to FileCenter's "Settings"
  2. Select the "Save/Open" option on the left
  3. De-select the option called "Enable FileCenter Save & Open Dialogs"
  4. Click "Apply" and "OK"

NOTE: If you use WordPerfect, you may need to re-enable WordPerfect's enhanced Save/Open dialogs. Go to WordPerfect's "Tools" menu (or possibly "Edit") > "Settings" > "Files" and select "Use enhanced file dialogs."